Running To End Domestic Violence Quest

In 1966, Roberta Louise “Bobbi” Gibb was the first woman to run the entire Boston Marathon. Her run challenged prevalent prejudices and misconceptions about women’s athletic capabilities, and I have her to thank for setting me on my Running to End Domestic Violence Quest. Through this fundraising campaign, I am hoping to run 6 half marathons in 6 months, from June to December, in order to raise awareness of domestic violence and funds for W.O.M.A.N., Inc., a nonprofit that serves domestic violence survivors.

It’s funny to think back to my first half marathon race. I ran it in August of 2009. At the time, I had no idea how I was going to complete that distance of 13.1 miles. And after I finished the race, I had no idea how one could ever complete an entire marathon of 26.2 miles. Something I also accomplished in June 2011.

Now, I have to focus on being in continual training mode for 6 months to sustain my running ability and to complete 6 half marathons. Today, I did a 7 mile training run, and I incorporated the route around Lake Merced into my run, which is the sight of my first half marathon. The lake covers a 4.5 mile distance, and I ran the lake 3 times to complete the half marathon distance. To take you along on my run today, I took a short video of it. Take a look at the video to learn more about my first half marathon.

Lake Merced – First Half Marathon Video 

To give myself extra incentive to continue this training mode of mine for 6 months, I am planning some perks along the way. One of them being that I will be eating so much junk food after each race is completed! One of my favorite things to purchase after each race is a big bag of Fire Cheetos. I can’t wait to have sticky red fingers from eating those things. But I am not running just for that delicious bag of Fire Cheetos, I am running to raise awareness of domestic violence and support for services provided by W.O.M.A.N., Inc.  Domestic violence takes many different forms and can be emotional, physical, sexual, or financial. It is still not openly discussed in many sectors, but it should be as it affects 1 in 4 women in the United States, meaning that the likelihood that we all know someone who has, is, or will be experiencing a violent relationship is all too real. Because of this reality, agencies like W.O.M.A.N., Inc. are desperately needed to help survivors through these difficult and frightening situations.

So please help me reach my goal of raising $5,000 for W.O.M.A.N., Inc. by donating to my Running to End Domestic Violence Campaign. Every little bit helps.

~ Mariya

TO SPONSOR: Visit and click the DONATE NOW or paste this URL in your browser:http://www.stayclassy.org/fundraise?fcid=200917.

For updates and information on Mariya’s quest, visit https://www.facebook.com/RunningToEndDomesticViolence?ref=hl and be sure to share the Fundraising page- http://www.stayclassy.org/fundraise?fcid=200917 -with friends and family!

Leave a Reply

