Running to End Domestic Violence Quest: The Running Campaign!

Seventy-eight miles. 411,840 feet. 4,942,080 inches. That’s the distance I’ll be covering during the SIX half marathons I’ll be running between June 3, 2012 and December 2, 2012.

The End Result. Undergoing both an intense physical and mental challenge by running 5 Half Marathons in the name of raising money for an agency dear to my heart, Women Organized to Make Abuse Non-Existent (W.O.M.A.N., Inc.) 

The Races

  • Jun. 3, 2012 – San Diego, CA – Rock ‘n’ Roll Series
  • Sept. 22, 2012 – Denver, CO – Rock ‘n’ Roll Series
  • Oct. 7, 2012 – San Jose, CA – Rock ‘n’ Roll Series
  • Oct. 14, 2012 – San Francisco, CA – Nike Women’s Marathon
  • Oct. 28, 2012 – Los Angeles, CA – Rock ‘n’ Roll Series
  • Dec. 2, 2012 – Las Vegas, NV – Rock ‘n’ Roll Series

I am writing to ask if you will sponsor me in undertaking this challenge. I have two ambitious goals–first to beat my personal record of running a half marathon by at least 1 minute in each of the 6 races and second to help me raise $5,000 for W.O.M.A.N., Inc. All donations will directly benefit the agency and are, of course, tax deductible.

Raising money for this agency holds special importance for me as I work for W.O.M.A.N., Inc., and working towards ending violence against women is one of my life’s passions. Domestic Violence affects more people than you might imagine, with one of every four women experiencing it at some point in their lifetime. This form of violence does not discriminate. It occurs among people of all races, ages, socio-economic classes, religious affiliations, sexual orientations, occupations, and educational backgrounds, meaning the likelihood of this situation happening to you or a loved one of yours is all too real. A statement that I am sad to say holds true for me as too many special people in my life have had to undergo this heartbreaking situation.

Please join me in supporting this very important cause by sponsoring me in my Running to End Domestic Violence quest! Plus, our Board Chair will match the $5,000 we raise–bringing in $10,000 total for survivors of domestic violence!

TO SPONSOR: Click on DONATE NOW to make a secure credit card donation.

You can also follow my quest via a blog set-up by Runway Junkie, an online marketplace where you can buy and sell women’s designer clothing and accessories while supporting pro-women organizations such as W.O.M.A.N., Inc.

Click on http://runwayjunkie.com/speak-up/entry/running-to-end-domestic-violence-quest to follow my quest via photos, videos, and blog posts!

Thank you so much for your support, and I hope I can make W.O.M.A.N., Inc. proud!

~ Mariya

Leave a Reply

