W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Staff Highlight: Latina Program Manager Paola Souto

Learn more about our Latina Program Case Manager Paola Souto!

ImageHow long have you been working at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

Paola: Over a year.

What do you do at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

Paola: I am the Latina Manager. So I do outreach in Spanish, do case management, and organize Echando Pa’lante.

How did you come into this profession?

Paola: In City College, I began to be really interested in gender studies. Then, I got into Project SURVIVE. These experiences would go on to guide me into this field.

What do you enjoy most about the Latina Program?

Paola: I like that I can have a relationship with my clients. We go together through the entire process and the process itself is very holistic. We do peer counseling, I get to know their lawyers, their kids. I also love Echando Pa’lante. It’s not about working through crisis with the clients. It is more of a social event, which is fun! But most of all, I like seeing that survivors can empower themselves and that they’re eager to help other survivors and bring awareness to their friends and community.

What are you looking forward to as the Latina Program progresses?

Paola: I like that we are getting more and more volunteers involved. I think volunteers are becoming such a key part of the Program. Through having more volunteer support, we can offer more peer counseling. I’m also looking forward to connecting more organizations and agencies to the Latina Program. It’s been really important to connect with agencies and work together. I’m also looking forward to continuing to grow Echando Pa’lante.

What do you enjoy most about working with W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

Paola: Since my interview, I’ve noticed their sense of humor. I love that we’re always laughing and joking and having fun and that gives you energy for when you have to do difficult work.

Leave a Reply

