W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Staff Highlight: Mary Martinez

How long have you been working at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?
4.5 years, but I began as a crisis line volunteer.

What do you do for W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?
I am the Crisis Line Supervisor. I help train those volunteers who are part of the crisis line program, working closely with them to make sure they feel supported. I
meet with survivors and provide them with peer counseling, safety planning, and resources. I also work on the crisis line.

How did you come into this profession?
Growing up witnessing abuse played a large part in why I studied Sociology, which lead me to becoming a strong advocate against violence, and that is why I work at an organization that supports survivors of relationship abuse.

What do you enjoy most about the Crisis Line Program?
This work can be difficult but reminding myself that our crisis line may be the first outlet a survivor uses to speak out about their abusive situation, and allowing them that space to process, is really powerful.

What are you looking forward to as the Crisis Line Program progresses?
Because we have a small staff, volunteers play a key role in our organization. I will always look forward to working with volunteers, using the tools we have to train them to be great peer counselors. As the crisis line progresses, volunteers will still be important to the program. And I appreciate them!

What do you enjoy most about working with W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?
Definitely the sense of humor! It helps when you’re doing difficult work.

Leave a Reply

