W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Staff Highlight: Lily Krutel

How long have you been working at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I started volunteering with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. in April 2009. After participating in the 40-hour Domestic Violence training, I began working on the crisis line and progressed into facilitating support groups. In July 2010 I stepped into my current role of Volunteer Coordinator.

 What do you do at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

My work mostly focuses on the Volunteer Program. I train and support our amazing community of volunteers. Three times a year, I help to facilitate our 40-hour Domestic Violence training. I also help organize ongoing education events throughout the year. Like other program staff at W.O.M.A.N., Inc., I help provide community education, organize fundraising events, and support our efforts towards LGBTQ-inclusive service provision.

How did you come into this profession?

Two things really motivated me to enter this profession.  One was my own exposure to domestic violence while growing up, and the other is my continued interest in expanding my knowledge and skills relevant to the field of social work. It’s an honor to support survivors of domestic violence and their families, and to work closely with inspiring advocates in the anti-Domestic Violence community, and that’s what keeps me here!

 What do you enjoy most about the Volunteer Program?

I always enjoy guiding new volunteers through the training process, and getting to know each of them throughout their involvement with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. I love being a source of support to folks as they hone their social service skills, and also really enjoy developing the program and the opportunities that we can offer to volunteers.

What are you looking forward to as the Volunteer Program continues to grow?

I look forward to developing our current volunteer opportunities, and creating new opportunities that speak to the direction our agency is moving in and the diverse skills and experiences of our volunteer community. I would love to see volunteers progress into more advanced roles with direct service and leadership in the organization.

What do you enjoy most about working with W.O.M.A.N., Inc.? 

Along with contributing to work that strengthens our communities, I am really grateful to collaborate with the intelligent, funny, and open-minded folks at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. and with our dedicated partner agencies.

Leave a Reply

