W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Donor Spotlight: LinChiat Chang

linchiat.chang

How did you first learn about W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?
I don’t remember exactly; but it may had been a poster on a bus-stop in the Mission showing a badly hurt woman with a black eye and a message implying that domestic violence is rarely quite as obvious as that! I am not even sure if it was a W.O.M.A.N., Inc. poster, but it prompted me to learn more about how I can support local organizations fighting domestic violence.

What inspired you to support W.O.M.A.N., Inc.’s anti-violence efforts?
To me, the most inspiring aspect of your program is the focus on survivor empowerment–recovery from abuse by people we trust and love is never easy; much courage is needed at times when we are emotionally weakened; and we may falter or make awful mistakes even while extricating ourselves from those relationships. I believe W.O.M.A.N., Inc. makes a huge difference because you help survivors realize they are not alone if they reach out, that it is possible to regain control and efficacy in their lives, even when it seems oh so hopeless and terrifying sometimes. Your support groups and crisis line advocates empower survivors by giving them options and resources to which they may not otherwise have access.

What is the impact you hope for your support to have on the community?
I know you have outreach programs to raise public awareness; that is a good thing as it should enable people to recognize less obvious signs of abuse in their own lives as well as the lives of others, and hopefully be better informed on how to handle abusive situations.

Can you share one fun fact about yourself?
Well, recently I have learned how to bake cookies, and it is so much fun! Some nights I have trouble falling asleep because I cannot stop thinking about possible ingredients I could use to make my next batch of cookies!

Leave a Reply

