W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Volunteer Spotlight: Helen Harvey

Helen

Helen joined the agency in April 2012. Before jumping into direct service work, she was a huge help in preparing for training by providing admin support to the volunteer program. Since completing the training process, Helen has been a thoughtful, patient and resourceful presence on our crisis line each week. She recently began the training process for support group facilitation, and we’re so excited to see her grow into this new skill set!

When did you first get involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I first came across W.O.M.A.N., Inc. in February 2012 and knew right away that it was an organization I would love to work with. I had my interview in April and started the 40 hour training in July. I have been volunteering on the Crisis Line since September.

What inspired you to do anti-violence work?

I first came across the anti-violence movement through an organization I was working for in London, and it always seemed like such important and necessary work. I then looked into volunteering with a domestic violence charity in the UK but unfortunately they did not have any openings. So I was really happy to come across W.O.M.A.N., Inc. when I moved to San Francisco!

What kind of opportunities have you been involved with here?

Since September I have been volunteering on the Crisis Line, and I also just completed the training to facilitate support groups. So I am looking forward to observing a few sessions and getting involved in those.

How has your involvement impacted your life?

My involvement with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. has impacted my life in a number of ways. I learned so much through the 40 hour training–both about anti-violence work and also about how to take care of myself while supporting others. It has also been great to meet so many wonderful people through the organization.

What pieces of wisdom would you share with new volunteers or community members who are interested in supporting W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I think I would really encourage people to get involved in as many ways as they can. The great thing about being involved with an organization like W.O.M.A.N., Inc. is that there are constant opportunities for involvement, growth and learning, and I really think there is a role for anyone who wants to get involved.

What do you enjoy the most about volunteering at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

One thing I really enjoy is that I am constantly learning. On the Crisis Line you never know who is on the other end of a call, and no two days are the same. I also really enjoy working with staff and other volunteers at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.

Can you share one fun fact about yourself?

I spent the last 10 years living in the UK, and while I had a blast I am really excited to be back in the Bay Area where I grew up! You can’t beat this weather…

Leave a Reply

