W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Staff Highlight: Blase Hents

Blase - Staff Highlight

How long have you been working at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I first came to W.O.M.A.N., Inc. over ten years ago as in interim accountant during a time of transition. Having grown up with domestic violence, I was inspired by the program services offered and stayed on for a few years building a relationship with the team at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. providing direct service to the community. I was contacted last year to help W.O.M.A.N., Inc. during another transition where I have been able to offer my expertise in the administrative/financial aspects of the agency.

What do you do at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

My role encompasses the financial, HR and IT aspects in supporting the team at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.

How did you come into this profession?

I have been of service in the nonprofit world for the last 20 years.

In 1992, on a trip to Dharamsala, I met His Holiness the Dalai Lama and began practicing Tibetan Buddhism. Eight years later I was ordained losangmonlam, a monk of the Tibetan Buddhist monastic tradition by Choden Rinpoche in California, later taking full ordination with His Holiness Dalai Lama in a ceremony held at his temple in Dharamsala. I continued to practice, study and teach in the San Francisco Bay Area, under the guidance of Geshe Ngawang Dakpa.

I wasn’t born to any of this. The first years of my life were shared with a family of five brothers in a farming community on the edge of the Red River Valley in North Dakota. After graduating high school in southeastern Minnesota, I went on to pursue my undergraduate degree from Georgetown University in Washington, D.C. And, not until I was just shy of finishing my M.B.A Degree at Boston University, did I finally honor my inner quest to seek answers. My journey began by traveling the world to connect with a wide range of people from all walks of life and traditions. Three years later, I returned to the United States having discovered, among many other things, my joy at being an artist–a painter and sculptor.

In January of 2010, I made the decision to resign my community life as a monk and return to offer service in the larger world community. I re-joined W.O.M.A.N., Inc. in 2011.

What are you looking forward to as W.O.M.A.N., Inc. continues to grow?

I have been very inspired by the team at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. and in particular their culture of collaboration in program services and organizational development. Given my experience with more traditional nonprofit organizations, I find the collaborative culture key in embracing the community moving forward.

What do you enjoy most about working at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

Embracing community at many levels, from the team we work with, the community of supporters and volunteers as well as the extensive community W.O.M.A.N., Inc. reaches in creating a better future for all.

Leave a Reply

