W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Volunteer Spotlight: Sarah Campbell

Typical San Francisco neighborhood

Sarah Campbell joined the W.O.M.A.N., Inc. community back in May 2011, initially looking to apply her theater background and passion for anti-violence work to performing outreach and community education. After a while, Sarah moved into supporting survivors on our 24-hour crisis line and during our drop-in support hours. Sarah has helped out during our children’s groups, and provided reliable and quality support on the crisis line as an after-hours advocate. She has such a warm, empowering, and authentic approach to supporting people and is now, sadly, leaving us for graduate school. We hate to see you go, but we are so excited for you to continue growing in your social work career. Best of luck and SO much appreciation! To learn more about Sarah, check out what she has to say about her Volunteer Experience in her own words below.

 

I got involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. in 2011ish after completing the 40-hour training. This was at a time in my life when I was transitioning out of pursuing acting as a career and into some sort of helping profession–but what that looked like, I had no idea. I volunteered at several different organizations and was still searching for that perfect fit. When I heard about the 40-hour training, my curiosity was piqued, and I knew I had to participate. Learning about domestic violence and family violence in general awakened a passion in me and really focused my career goals.

I decided to join the W.O.M.A.N., Inc. team. Best decision of my life! The energy and focus of the inspirational women at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. made me even more excited about anti-violence work, and volunteering for this amazing agency gave me the knowledge and tools to focus my career goals and be successful in my professional pursuits. Originally, I wanted to work with the kids and do outreach because, to be honest, I was terrified of taking calls on the crisis line. Eventually, I decided to challenge myself. The 20 hours of observation were so thorough that by the time I was ready to take calls, it felt totally natural!

If I can say one thing to new volunteers, it would be to challenge yourself! The atmosphere of W.O.M.A.N., Inc. is so supportive that it is the perfect environment to step out of your comfort zone. This fall, I applied for the Master of Social Work program at the University of Hawaii, and I was accepted! The hands-on experiences I had as a volunteer with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. definitely made me a competitive applicant, and I know that that was a huge reason why I was accepted. I will definitely miss the warm and friendly atmosphere of WOMAN Inc, and everyone’s awesome sense of humor! I think the best part of working with the folks there was that everyone does such important and amazing work, but they made it okay to laugh your booty off at silly jokes and not take yourself too seriously.

Fun Fact about myself: I have a black belt in Tae Kwon Do, but I earned it when I was 14 so my skills are really really rusty.

~ Sarah Campbell

Leave a Reply

