W.O.M.A.N. Inc. Volunteer Spotlight–Rowan Pack

Rowan - Volunteer Spotlight

Rowan Pack joined W.O.M.A.N. Inc. in May 2012. Early on she helped in keeping our Domestic Violence Information and Referral Center up-to-date with helpful resource info for advocates. Soon after, Rowan went through our 40-hour training, providing thoughtful input on working with survivors, and becoming one of the most patient, reliable and dedicated crisis line volunteers we’ve seen. In addition to providing peer counseling in an empowering and nonjudgmental fashion, she also helps to guide new volunteers through their own observation process as they prepare to take their first call. Rowan has also been a stellar volunteer in the outreach area, attending community events and spreading the word about the anti-domestic violence movement and our services. We’re thankful to work with such a considerate and committed volunteer! Here is what Rowan has to say about her experience:

“Working in a birth center as a student midwife, I was witness to domestic violence of varying degrees on a (sadly) regular basis. As I found myself playing a fairly intimate role in the lives of these survivors, I decided I would seek out more formalized training on how to be an ally, and through this search I found W.O.M.A.N. Inc. I attended the 40 hour training and have since worked on the crisis line once a week for about 8 months. I have also had the privilege of serving as a representative of W.O.M.A.N. Inc. at several outreach opportunities, attending additional trainings, and forming relationships with others involved in this work.

Volunteering at W.O.M.A.N. Inc. has been an incredible opportunity. From my first day of training, I was awed by the complex analysis of oppression I saw presented by many different members of the Domestic Violence community. Since working on the crisis line, I’ve both been exposed to the realities of domestic violence, and been able to provide tangible support to those seeking it. For me, in the face of such an ugly truth, these are two really important steps–recognition and support–and I feel extremely lucky to be a part an organization that is doing those things on a much larger scale than I, as an individual, could.

Coming in for my crisis line shift has become one of the highlights of my week! It includes many difficult conversations, to be sure, but it also includes meaningful interactions with both callers and co-volunteers, and continued growth as an ally.”

Leave a Reply

