Strong Field Project Welcomes Mary Martinez

Mary - Strong Field

We have exciting news! W.O.M.A.N., Inc.’s Crisis Line Supervisor, Mary Martinez, was accepted into the highly competitive Strong Field Leadership Development Program! The program is geared towards building a strong, coordinated network of domestic violence service providers in California! Read on to learn what Jill & Mary have to say about this opportunity below.

“I was thrilled to learn that Mary Martinez, our Crisis Line Manager, was accepted into the Strong Field Project’s Leadership Development Program (LDP), Cohort 3. Having been a member of Cohort 2, I can vouch for the professional and personal development this opportunity has offered. I have shared key learnings from the LDP with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Lessons such as how to manage change and transition, deciding which programs were important to keep going and which should come to an end, and peer coaching, which all came at just the right time for our agency. Knowing just how relevant and exciting those LDP conversations can be, I’m curious to see which learnings will speak to Mary and what she will bring back to the agency. In addition to the agency benefit, I am so happy that Mary has been afforded this opportunity. Being given space and time to reflect, away from the office, with talented and intelligent people is a rarity, and its an honor that Mary has earned. She will contribute to the group with her unique perspective, intelligence, humor, and authentic way of connecting with people. I know great things lie ahead for W.O.M.A.N., Inc. and for Mary!” ~ Jill Zawisza, W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Executive Director

“As someone who gets excited over the smallest things, being accepted into Strong Field Project Leadership Development Program was over the ‘Sound of Music’ mountains excitement for me! I was surprised when I found out I was one of twenty individuals picked amongst 60 applicants because of my tendency to be a little hard on myself, and I heard the other applications were really strong. But, being notified of the exciting news was some good validation for myself. I can’t wait to connect with the others from Cohort 3 and develop some skills on how to be an effective leader not only at W.O.M.A.N., Inc., but in the anti-domestic violence community!” ~ Mary Martinez

Leave a Reply

