W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Volunteer Spotlight–Lucy Chen

Lucy

Lucy Chen came on board at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. in January of this year, initially supporting our team via administrative and social media projects. She participated in our Survivor Advocate training, graduating in March and shortly after became actively involved with our crisis line and Latina program. Lucy has put her Spanish speaking skills to great use here, supporting monolingual Spanish speaking survivors with peer counseling, safety planning and referrals. She has also helped survivors to record their stories to share with the community. Lucy also helps with our outreach efforts and will soon be supporting our development work. Thanks for being such a rockstar! Learn more about Lucy below as she she shares details about her volunteer experience with W.O.M.A.N., Inc.

***

My name is Lucy Chen, and I am Peruvian with Chinese descent. I never realized how my life and my country overall were actually affected by violence until I took a class at the City College of San Francisco and realized that injustices such as racism, misogyny, and homophobia were being normalized in the society I grew up in. I got involved in anti-violence work in 2010 with PROJECT SURVIVE doing presentations in various City college campuses, and then when I graduated I went ahead and applied as a volunteer at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. in order to seek out more experience and ways to help survivors that I could later perhaps take back to my country.

I am trying different stuff at W.O.M.A.N., Inc., such as answering the crisis line, being involved in the Latina program by translating and supporting Spanish-speaking survivors, and also doing some outreach work through designing flyers and giving presentations. Doing pretty much whatever I can to support W.O.M.A.N., Inc. makes me happy. In the future I would like to also learn and help in the development area so that I could understand how the important work that W.O.M.A.N., Inc. does is organized and funded.

My experience as a volunteer at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. has had a strong impact in my personal life and has helped me value all the good relationships I have formed in this country. I would like everyone who is interested in doing this type of work to know that obviously it’s not all sunshine and rainbows and people thanking you… it can get pretty nasty and you can lose yourself in all the ugliness, but I believe that only by losing yourself you can actually be found. Regardless of all, it can give you lots of spiritual insight.

Leave a Reply

