W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Volunteer Spotlight–Sandy Lopez

photo-2_small

Sandy Lopez joined W.O.M.A.N., Inc. in March of this year as she wrapped up her studies at SFSU. She has been an active contributor to our social media platforms via posts on Twitter and Facebook, blog posts and contributions to our monthly newsletter. Sandy is a talented journalist and has lent her impressive writing skills and passion for this work to our awareness efforts. We are sad to see her leave, but so excited to see where her career goes. Thanks for all of your positivity, follow-through and drive in supporting survivors of domestic violence, Sandy! Learn more about Sandy and her volunteer experience in her interview below!

When did you first get involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I first became involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. in early March of this year. I volunteered during my last semester at San Francisco State University for my community organizing class.

What inspired you to do anti-violence work?

I became inspired to do anti-violence work because I am a survivor of domestic violence. It took me years to finally accept that. I know first-hand about the pain and trauma that a survivor experiences. I specifically became involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. because I want to help empower other survivors and give them the life-saving tools that this organization provides.

What kind of opportunities have you been involved with here?

I’ve been fortunate enough to do tabling at domestic violence prevention events where I’ve been able to speak to people about counseling, ways to help survivors, and prevention advice. I’ve also written stories for this blog about issues that the Mission District community faces, such as language barriers.

How has your involvement impacted your life?

My life has been tremendously impacted by W.O.M.A.N., Inc. This was the first year that I came to terms with my past and I’ve realized that domestic violence continues to be a prevalent issue in this day and age. By volunteering at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. I became stronger and more confident in the person that I am.

What pieces of wisdom would you share with new volunteers or community members who are interested in supporting W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

The people that I’ve met at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. are the most selfless people that I’ve met. By volunteering and/or donating here, one can really make a positive impact in the life of a survivor.

What do you enjoy the most about volunteering at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I enjoyed working with people who are passionate about their work and caring enough to devote their time to help support survivors. If there’s one thing that W.O.M.A.N., Inc. has taught me it’s that positive change can occur when people come together to support a cause.

Can you share one fun fact about yourself?

I’m a thrill-seeker! I enjoy skydiving, rock climbing, and exploring different parts of the world.

Leave a Reply

