Volunteer Spotlight Revisited: Tania Parks

Tania Parks

When did you first get involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc?  

I started my 40 hour training in October 2011 and right after the training was completed I started volunteering on the crisis line and as an Outreach volunteer.  I now have made the switch to permanent staff and am the Program Assistant at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.

What kind of opportunities have you been involved with here?

 I have been involved as a crisis line volunteer, an outreach volunteer, an Executive Director intern, an after hours back-up advocate and am currently the Program Assistant.

What inspired you to do anti-violence work?  

I have been interested in human rights issues ever since I was a little girl. My parents made a point to educate my siblings and I about the injustices of the world from an early age and always emphasized that it was my responsibility to do whatever I could to play a part in helping to end them. I became most inspired to become involved specifically in anti-violence work when I studied abroad and became acutely aware of the acceptability of violence towards women in certain parts of the world.

How has your involvement impacted your life?

Being involved in these opportunities has given me a clearer vision for what I would like my future career to be. I have also met so many great people through these experiences and have developed a strong sense of community here.

What pieces of wisdom would you share with new volunteers or community members who are interested in supporting W.O.M.A.N., Inc?  

It is very important to not be too hard on yourself when you are starting out. Everyone makes mistakes and that’s how we learn. I made so many! I also didn’t realize the extreme importance of self-care at first and had moments when I was not practicing it enough. This really weighed me down, so it’s important to schedule time for self-care, especially at the beginning.

What do you enjoy the most about volunteering at W.O.M.A.N., Inc? 

The people who work here! They are the goofiest bunch of geniuses you’ll ever get the privilege of meeting. The atmosphere at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. is so accepting, open-minded, and really really fun!

Can you share one fun fact about yourself?  

I have traveled to 10 different countries.

Leave a Reply

