Volunteer Spotlight Revisited: Stephanie Colorado

image

When did you first get involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I became involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. summer of 2012.

What inspired you to do anti-violence work?

As a little girl I knew I loved helping others in need. When I started to get involved with anti-violence work it was such a rewarding feeling to help those in crisis. I knew I had found something I wanted to pursue. One of my biggest inspirations are the survivors themselves. I love working with survivors and helping them get through their crisis at that moment.

What kind of opportunities have you been involved with here?

The opportunities that I have been involved in the most at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. are being able to work with survivors through the Crisis Line and the Latina program.

How has your involvement impacted your life?

Being involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. has allowed me to grow so much as a person, as well as finding ways to help others. I love the fact that because of W.O.M.A.N., Inc. I have more knowledge on how to further help survivors when in crisis.

What pieces of wisdom would you share with new volunteers or community members who are interested in supporting W.O.M.A.N., Inc?

Always make sure that you are taking care of yourself before helping others. Coming in to help survivors with a smile is always a must. Its important to have a passion for what you do in order to help others.

What do you enjoy the most about volunteering at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

Working with survivors in person or over the crisis line.  Being able to help survivors in a time of crisis is truly a rewarding feeling for me.  I also love the support system W.O.M.A.N., Inc. has to offer.  The staff is always there for support whether you just need to talk to someone or someone to laugh with.  It’s truly a fun space to share.

Can you share one fun fact about yourself?

I make awesome Oreo cupcakes!  If you ever want any, let me know! =)

Leave a Reply

