Intern Highlight — Elsa Paris

1)   How long have you been working at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I have been working at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. three years.  I started in September of 2010 as a trainee therapist.

2)   What do you do at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

Since March 2013 I have been working as a bilingual Intern Marriage and Family Therapist who works mostly with Spanish speaking survivors of domestic violence and their children. The majority of them are monolingual speakers.

3)   How did you come into this profession?

I came into this profession due to my desire to help individuals’ and families’ mental well-being.

4)   What are you looking forward to as W.O.M.A.N., Inc. continues to grow?

I look forward to continuing to provide psycho-education around the dynamics of abusive relationships to my clients and to passionately advocate for their well-being. Also, I look forward to embrace and learn with every direct relevant experience I have when providing our services to individuals, families and children in crisis.

5) What do you enjoy most about working at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I love that W.O.M.A.N., Inc. is very much a community based organization which advocates for individuals and/or families that had experienced or are experiencing domestic violence. I love that as part of this organization we help and reach out to the Spanish speaking community, and for the most part, I enjoy the feminist atmosphere that distills from most of the staff and volunteers that work in this organization.

Leave a Reply

