W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Wishes Good Luck to Lily Krutel, Our Amazing Education and Prevention Manager

Lily leaving article picLily Krutel has been an invaluable member of our team for over 3 years. During this time, W.O.M.A.N., Inc. underwent an amazing transition as an agency, to which Lily’s contributions have been substantial. Lily started as a volunteer in 2009. She later on became a paid advocate. Her reliability, authenticity, and talent for working with survivors of domestic violence impressed us all and we were honored to offer her the position of Volunteer Coordinator when it became available. Lily jumped into the role, and helped usher in new policies and procedures that added to our culture of inclusion and transparency–she’s also incredibly organized, which helps when you manage a huge program. Soon thereafter, she broadened her focus, and became our Education and Prevention Manager. Again, Lily helped set the educational course of W.O.M.A.N., Inc. We might be biased, but we think we have one of the best volunteer and educational programs around; Lily is a huge part of why these programs have grown exponentially over the last few years. During times of calm and crisis, Lily has continually showed up for W.O.M.A.N., Inc. and our clients. She’s offered client services and support for her team members when it was needed most.

Although she is stepping away from her role as full time staff to further her education, this isn’t goodbye.Lily will always be an honored member of Team W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Her departure from our full time team does, however, present the perfect opportunity for us to show our appreciation for all the phenomenal ways she’s showed up for us over the years.

W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Staff Appreciates Lily

Personally, I want to thank her, not only for the exemplary work she’s done, but for her good humor, tension relieving jokes and for the friendship she’s brought me over the years. You will be sorely missed, Lily.  ~ Jill Zawiza

Lily is an amazing, calming presence in the agency.  She listens deeply and considers carefully before speaking.  Her passion for her work is deep and genuine.  Her incredible contributions to the team and to the W.O.M.A.N., Inc. community have helped to propel the agency to become the strong entity it is.  ~ Ina Moon

I first knew Lily as the Volunteer Coordinator at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. She co-facilitated the 40 hour domestic violence training I underwent to become a Crisis Line Volunteer. Lily made my volunteer experience unforgettable. She is by far one of the most reliable, dedicated, eloquent, and down to earth persons I have met. I’m lucky enough to also call Lily my co-worker and office desk neighbor. I will miss having her sit next to me and being able to talk about our mutual love of dinosaurs together, but I’m also very excited for her to begin pursuing her MSW degree! Good Luck Lily!  ~ Mariya Taher

Lily was the very first person I met when I came to W.O.M.A.N., Inc., and I credit that initial meeting with her sparking my interest in working with survivors of domestic violence. Lily has an uncanny ability to speak about the issues we encounter in this work in an articulate, nuanced manner, and has contributed a great deal to the self-care culture that makes the W.O.M.A.N., Inc. community so special. I can honestly say that working alongside Lily has been immeasurably beneficial to my own professional growth, and I feel fortunate to have her as a role model and friend. ~ Catherine Connor-Moore

Lily is one of the most poised, conscientious people I know. Her perfect balance of graceful and goofy is hard to pull off, but she does it well. Lily has taught me many things since I first became involved at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Perhaps the most important lesson I learned from her is that levity is key to self care and combatting vicarious trauma. Her wit and refined sense of humor never ceases to amaze me and it is something that I will miss tremendously. Lily has undoubtedly made innumerable positive contributions to this agency and I feel truly fortunate to be able to call her a friend. ~ Tania Parks

Something Lily and I share is that we both began as crisis line volunteers at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. back when dinosaurs roamed the earth.  Just kidding, but close enough.  She observed me on the line, and years later told me I was scary because I didn’t talk to her, but in reality, I was just shy.  Anyway, Lily will be truly missed!  She has made many contributions to the organization, everything from her time management and organization skills (!), her ideas, her healthy boundaries, her active listening skills with clients as well as coworkers (she always gives really thoughtful feedback), her support and respect for the team, and many more.  In my opinion the most important contribution she has made is her sense of humor; the work we do is tough and it’s important that we laugh 96% of the time. Over the past three years I’ve worked closely with Lily, we both coordinated volunteers, we interviewed volunteers together, and more recently we have provided presentations to those in the community interested in W.O.M.A.N., Inc..  I’m really going to miss her support and patience especially when we were presenting together.  Lily’s awesome!  Oh yeah, one last thing, I’m going to miss her sighs.      ~ Mary Martinez

Lily has the ability to find the right balance in most situations: she knows when to joke and when to be serious, when to offer a word of comfort to a caller or a coworker, and when to let you sit in silence. In this past two years working together, I have learned a lot by working with Lily; she has modeled how to handle crises and people’s frustration, and how to set healthier boundaries; she has taught me not to feel guilty for practicing self-care, and how to support somebody without being intrusive; I have even learned to be more efficient with my time by color-coding my emails and appointments on Google calendar. Most important, Lily has inspired me to be a better and calmer advocate. Her thoughtful contributions have been critical during the tough times the agency has gone through and I believe we are a stronger agency for having had her on our team. We’ll miss you Lily! But, you know… nobody ever leaves W.O.M.A.N., Inc. completely 😉    ~ Paola Souto

What a great member of a fantastic team, offering wisdom, balance and humor alongside the quirkiness that we all bring to the table here in the Bay Area.  An integral part of the work that W.O.M.A.N., Inc. does in the community, I am gonna miss the inspiration. ~ Blase Hents

Leave a Reply

