Volunteer Spotlight Revisited: Jaymie Frazier

971696_422008737914222_942766231_n

1) When did you first get involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I became involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. in October 2011, for their Fall 40 hour training.

2) What inspired you to do anti-violence work?

I was first exposed to anti-domestic violence work during my undergraduate years at San Diego State University. As a member of Alpha Phi Gamma Sorority, Inc. I organized and participated in many events that embraced the organization’s national philanthropy: the fight against violence towards women. Over the years, this national philanthropy has become one of my life’s many passions, which I wish to actively implement throughout my life. Upon returning to San Francisco, I decided to continue helping survivors of domestic violence by volunteering with W.O.M.A.N., Inc.

3) What kind of opportunities have you been involved with here?

Since I joined W.O.M.A.N., Inc. I have had the pleasure of being involved as a Children’s Group Volunteer, Outreach Co-Coordinator, Crisis Line Volunteer, and more recently, Social Media Volunteer.

4) How has your involvement impacted your life?

My time with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. has impacted my life on many levels. By being involved with so many aspects of the organization, I have had the opportunity to try my hand at new things, as well as fine tune preexisting skills. At the same time, being able to help survivors and interact with children impacted by domestic violence is truly rewarding. Overall, these experiences continue to help me grow as an individual.

5) What pieces of wisdom would you share with new volunteers or community members who are interested in supporting W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

For new volunteers, I would advise to not underestimate the importance of self-care! Although rewarding, working in this field is tough and can take its toll. Thus, self-care is a great way to be mindful of your needs and limits. Plus, I would recommend reaching out to staff and other volunteers if you ever need help or someone to talk to (or laugh with) because they are always willing to give support.

6) What do you enjoy the most about volunteering at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I thoroughly enjoy working with the children who participate in the Children’s Group; they are a constant source of inspiration and are always a pleasure to have around, as many laughs are shared. I also love working alongside W.O.M.A.N., Inc.’s thriving community of staff and volunteers, because everyone, and I mean everyone, contributes to the agency’s diverse, supportive, and welcoming atmosphere.

7) Can you share one fun fact about yourself?

I love eating ice cream on cold, rainy days! And if possible, with french fries! Yum!

Leave a Reply

