W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Volunteer – Diana Duarte

Diana Duarte - Volunteer SpotlightMy name is Diana and I grew up in the East Bay. I went to college at UC Santa Cruz where I majored in Psychology. I’ve always had a passion for helping others and once I graduated I knew I wanted to get involved and give back to the community.

When I heard about W.O.M.A.N., Inc. I knew that it would be a challenging, but fulfilling experience that would also help prepare me for graduate school. It was important for me to get involved in anti-violence work because I have friends and family who are survivors of domestic violence. I know how difficult it is to break the cycle because I’ve seen people close to me struggle and I wanted to help others who have been/ are in similar situations.

Right now I am currently volunteering as a peer counselor on the crisis line and with the Latina Program. I do whatever I can in the Latina program whether it’s watching over a survivor’s children during a consultation or taking a crisis line call in Spanish. I would love to eventually help out with the support groups.

Volunteering with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. has confirmed my decision to go to grad school to become a therapist. I love helping others through difficult times and having a career where I would be able to do that is my dream!

My experience at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. has been very rewarding. I remember during my training there were some very difficult subjects we discussed, but it really did prepare me to be a volunteer. I’ve also met a lot of amazing people in my training and in the office.

Every time I’m able to help out a survivor, even if it’s just listening to their story and they tell me how thankful they are that they can talk to me, it’s an amazing feeling!

Leave a Reply

