Intern Highlight – Anna McDonald

Anna- Intern highlight1) How long have you been working at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I started training over the summer, but didn’t start coming in and seeing clients until late August.

2) What do you do at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I sit with people in individual therapy, help facilitate the support group, and answer calls on the crisis line.

3) How did you come into this profession?

I decided at a very young age that I wanted to help people, but it took me awhile to figure out the method for doing so. I decided to work in a therapeutic setting after attending the Tamalpa Institute in Marin, where I used movement and the arts for my own healing process and was able to witness the power of the arts for others, as well. Due to contact with domestic violence in my own life, I decided that I wanted to work to help those who are experiencing or have experienced abuse to find their paths toward healing.

4) How has your involvement impacted your life?

This work has made me very cognizant of the need to take care of myself really, really well in order to be of assistance to others. It feels great to be doing something about the pervasive violence in our culture, and is a big step forward in my life.

5) What do you enjoy most about working at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I love the wonderful staff who made me feel at home immediately, including my fellow therapy program newbies. I also really love sitting with people whose resilience and desire to work on themselves and their lives is humbling and awe-inspiring. It’s an honor to hold their stories.

6) Can you share one fun fact about yourself?

I am an artist who utilizes many mediums, but I really love to dance! I am trained classically (ballet, jazz, etc.), and also in modern, post-modern, and middle eastern dance forms.

Leave a Reply

