Intern Highlight – Emi Inoue

Emi - Intern Highlight1) How long have you been working at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I have been working at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. since August 2013.

2) What do you do at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I work at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. as MFT (Marriage and Family Counseling) intern therapist and a crisis-line volunteer.

3) How did you come into this profession?

I studied Counseling Psychology and Expressive Art Therapy at California Institute of Integral Studies in San Francisco and graduated in summer 2013. Before coming to SF for graduate school, I lived and worked as a designer in Tokyo. So, it has been such an exciting transition for me to move to SF and to become a therapist.

I come into this profession, because I always have a strong desire to study and work with trauma and their impact on people’s lives. I think the desire stems from my own experiences of physical trauma in my childhood as well as a healing journey I have gone through with helps of my therapist and significant people in my life. I have become increasingly passionate working with survivors of domestic violence as I volunteered at Asian Women’s Shelter a few years ago. The work has been growing in me since then as I continue working with survivors at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.

4) What are you looking forward to as W.O.M.A.N., Inc. continues to grow?

I am looking forward to see more survivors of domestic violence receive safe place, resources and education they need, be present with the stories in their own bodies, and be free to speak their mind and follow their life desire and dreams as W.O.M.A.N., Inc. continues to grow!!

5) What do you enjoy most about working at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I found working at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. meaningful and rewarding as we have access to an extensive on-going education on various issues related to domestic violence and how we can work toward non-violence society. I am learning to deepen insight around relationship in different cultural groups and to expand my ability to see my worldview without biases. Now, I consider family, self-empowerment, social justice as important aspect to support the work I am doing. I feel incredibly fulfilled when I can witness the transformation happening within my clients. It is also wonderful for me to feel a sense of oneness that W.O.M.A.N., Inc. staffs and volunteers have cultivated as a community.

Leave a Reply

