W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Wins Award for Excellence in Maternal Health and Equity


healthy-mothers-logoW.O.M.A.N., Inc. is now a proud recipient of the silver level Award for Excellence in Maternal Health and Equity from the Healthy Mothers Workplace Coalition!

The Healthy Mothers Workplace Coalition is a collaboration of non-profit organizations, government agencies and employers created to improve the working conditions and health of new parents. The Award for Healthy Mother's Workplace Award 2014 to WIExcellence in Maternal Health and Equity is meant to honor certain agencies who have excelled at implementing policies that will contribute to the overall health and well-being of new parents and their babies. The award is based on an assessment of W.O.M.A.N., Inc.’s policies relating to parental leave, lactation accommodation and work-family balance. I always knew I wanted to breastfeed my son and after hearing all the horror stories of nursing friends (having to pump in the bathroom or in rooms with no lock where people kept walking in) I was quite anxious about having to pump at work. I’m really grateful to work at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. where my needs as a new mom are constantly taken in consideration by the agency and my coworkers. The agency has made my transition into motherhood smoother, offering support when I need it.

Paola Souto, W.O.M.A.N., Inc.’s Latina Program Manager gave birth to her first child back in February 2014. She shared how W.O.M.A.N., Inc.’s Policies have helped her during this time in her life.

I always knew I wanted to breastfeed my son and after hearing all the horror stories of nursing friends (having to pump in the bathroom or in rooms with no lock where people kept walking in) I was quite anxious about having to pump at work. I’m really grateful to work at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. where my needs as a new mom are constantly taken in consideration by the agency and my coworkers. The agency has made my transition into motherhood smoother, offering support when I need it.

There will be an awards ceremony on September 15th from 9:30pm-11:00pm. RSVP and find event details here. For more information on the Healthy Mothers Workplace, visit their website, or visit their Facebook page to see pictures of last year’s event.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

