Volunteer Highlight: Katrina Noelle

1) When did you first get involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I got involved around 2012 by helping the organization survey their community (i.e. supporters, volunteers, etc.) to understand their current and ideal relationship with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. I was happy to donate my time to a very worthwhile local organization. My company concentrates in the insights/marketing research space, it was a great match.

2) What inspired you to do anti-violence work?

There is a great need to provide information, outreach and services to women of all demographic backgrounds, socioeconomic groups and neighborhoods throughout the Bay Area. When I researched the related organizations, W.O.M.A.N., Inc. seemed like the most worthy beneficiary of my pro-bono services.

3) What kind of opportunities have you been involved with here?

Since my initial involvement, I have joined the Events Committee to contribute on an ongoing basis. Key projects I have been involved with in that capacity include: volunteering for the San Francisco Rock n’ Roll marathon including a post-event survey capturing the experience had by both participants and volunteers as well as a project launched to understand the reaction to the new W.O.M.A.N., Inc. website design.

4) How has your involvement impacted your life?

I have been lucky enough to work with dedicated staff and volunteers on the W.O.M.A.N., Inc. team in general and in my committee specifically. The majority of my client base is in the for-profit sector, and it has been a pleasure to have the opportunity to work with a non-profit organization like W.O.M.A.N., Inc. The organization makes it a priority to incorporate feedback from their community to make their efforts, events and outreach as relevant as they can be. I’m glad to be a part of it!

5) What pieces of wisdom would you share with new volunteers or community members who are interested in supporting W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I would tell them to jump in with both feet and offer their expertise to help the organization grow. Find a committee that is in line with your interests and skills and get involved!

Leave a Reply

