Volunteer Spotlight: Bridget Daly

1) When did you first get involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I started at WOMAN Inc at the end of February, 2014.

2) What inspired you to do anti-violence work?

I had been looking for a way to contribute to the community of women in the Bay Area. I also wanted to learn more about working with a feminist non-profit . When a friend of mine told me she was working the crisis line, I wanted to know more. I read the stories of survivors, volunteers and staff on the WOMAN Inc blog, Facebook page, etc. and knew that I could help and be helped in the process. Bridget - Volunteer Highlight

3) What kind of opportunities have you been involved with here?

I have worked mostly on the Domestic Violence Information Referral Center (DIVRC). I help update the calendar with upcoming events, add new services for survivors, and organize new resources in the DVIRC library. In addition to working on the DVIRC, I have helped put out the DIVRC newsletter and organize the generous donations sent to WOMAN Inc from the community.

4) How has your involvement impacted your life?

WOMAN Inc has given me the opportunity to contribute to something bigger than myself during a time in my life when I felt powerless to effect change. As I learned how to help around the office, I realized that the contributions I was making to WOMAN Inc were helping me in the process. Meeting new people, developing marketable skills and learning from survivors and advocates greatly increased my confidence and sense of self worth.

5) What pieces of wisdom would you share with new volunteers or community members who are interested in supporting W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

When you surround yourself with empowered, endearing, determined women (like those found at WOMAN Inc), you will begin to find these qualities in yourself. Don’t be afraid to reach out for help and support.

Leave a Reply

