Join the W.O.M.A.N., Inc. TransAmerica® Rock ‘n’ Roll ½ MaRathon San Francisco™ Team!

Gina Li, rockstar volunteer, writes on why she joined Team W.O.M.A.N., Inc.

This will be my 2nd Half Marathon and I am once again, proudly running it alongside fellow members of the W.O.M.A.N., Inc. community. W.O.M.A.N., Inc. (Women Organized to Make Abuse Non-Existent) is an anti-domestic violence agency in the Bay Area that truly works with survivors of domestic violence in recognizing their immense strength and furthermore, stay safe in their often extremely tenuous circumstances.

Running a half-marathon poses a physical and mental challenge that to me, symbolizes the great potential and resilience of all human-beings, both individually and collectively. Running in and of itself is often a very solitary activity–having the appeal of providing time for self-reflection. With the added element of a race, where many different people run alongside one another, I personally feel a great sense of solidarity–a united front to encourage us to rise above all of life’s challenges. So many times in my life, I have felt that I am not “good” enough and was often made to feel very weak; running this event with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. is one way I am proving to myself and others that I am capable and strong.

Join Gina and some other awesome team members; contact events@womaninc.org for more info.

Check out our Facebook event page here!

Leave a Reply

