Donor Highlight: Shirley Lee

11107168_936663249698424_5140612258946709301_n

After attending one of our Community Education Series teen dating seminars, Shirley & her daughter came up with this cute and creative idea to package her polishes in “dating rights” to share with teens participating in future meetings.

1) What is your name and what do you do?

My name is Shirley Lee and I am an international corporate tax consultant. In my spare time, I volunteer for various charitable causes such as animal rescue, homelessness, and breast cancer.

2) How did you first learn about W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I first learnt about WOMAN Inc. through a community education event at SF public library last summer. The topic was teen dating and I went with my teenage daughter.

3) What inspired you to support W.O.M.A.N., Inc’s anti-violence efforts?

My daughter and I are very impressed by the teen dating education event. The presenters are passionate, knowledgeable, and friendly. As a mother, I find the presentation materials extremely useful when discussing the topic of dating with my daughter. I highly recommend parents with teenage children (girls and boys) to attend the teen dating education seminar. We especially like the relationship bill of rights. We had never heard of it until we attended the seminar. We find it so inspiring and feel grateful that WOMAN Inc. brought it to our attention.

4) What is the impact you hope for your support to have on the community?

We hope more people learn about the relationship bill of rights. I think girls especially should be taught the relationship bill of rights from a young age. It helps build healthy relationships all around, not just during dating.

5) Can you share one fun fact about yourself? 
Two of our bunnies (adopted from animal rescue groups) are featured in the 2015 WOMAN Inc pet calendar.


Many thanks to Shirley (and friends) for the thoughtful donation & taking time out of your day to answer your these highlight questions! We appreciate your support!

Leave a Reply

