W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Board Spotlight: Sara Matlock

Sara Matlock photo1) How did you come to be involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

For the past few years I have volunteered as a pro-bono consultant to Bay Area non-profits through the Taproot Foundation. In 2013 I learned about a project through Taproot to pull together a strategic assessment and environmental scan for WOMAN Inc. I was initially drawn to the organization for its mission and service to the community. While working on the project, I really enjoyed getting to know members of the WOMAN Inc team, board, and local domestic violence community. A few months after the project concluded, Lija invited me to join the board.

2) Can you tell us about your professional background?

My background is in corporate strategy and finance. I’ve worked at and consulted for a wide variety of organizations from start-up to Fortune 500 in both the for profit and non-profit arenas.

3) As a Board Member, what skills will you be able to bring to W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

As I board member I will utilize my leadership, strategy, and collaboration skills to support WOMAN Inc as it continues to deepen and expand its ability to provide quality services to survivors.  WOMAN Inc has a rich history in the San Francisco community of empowering domestic violence survivors to create lives free of violence.  I look forward working with the organization to think creatively on how we can further its impact and have more stories of success and empowerment.

Leave a Reply

