Volunteer Highlight: Sarah Lee

1) When did you first get involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?
I first got involved with W.O.M.A.N Inc December of 2014 and the entire journey has been very enjoyable and life changing – from the wonderful staff and volunteers, to the people who I have encountered on the line and occasionally during walk-ins.
2) What inspired you to do anti-violence work?
Anti-violence is a cause that I truly believe in. I have personally experienced domestic violence and have seen the detrimental effects it creates not only in myself but also in the people around me who are affected. The effects of violence are devastating and I hope to somehow stop the transfer of violence so ideally no one will have to go through what I and others have been through.
3) What kind of opportunities have you been involved with here?
I volunteer every Friday from 9am-1pm in the office on the crisis line as a peer counselor and am now a paid support line advocate as well.sarah'spic2
4) How has your involvement impacted your life?
W.O.M.A.N Inc has changed my life! Through the process I became more conscious of systemic violence, privilege, isms, that domestic violence happens in all demographics, importance of self-care, importance of non judgmental understanding, listening, and patience, to name a few. It’s beautiful to be a part of a passionate community. I’ve also made some amazing friends through the process as well. Did I mention how fabulous the staff, volunteers, and the rest of the W.O.M.A.N. Inc. community are? I’m just so grateful to be a part of the W.O.M.A.N. Inc. community! 🙂
5) What pieces of wisdom would you share with new volunteers or community members who are interested in supporting W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?
I wouldn’t call this wisdom, but what has helped me is not taking what the survivors say or how they act too personally. Also self care is really really important because this kind of work is difficult and we are more susceptible to experiencing vicarious trauma. Finally the W.O.M.A.N. Inc. community is very supportive so don’t hesitate to reach out if you need help.
One thought on “Volunteer Highlight: Sarah Lee

Leave a Reply

