Volunteer Highlight: Christina Bulman

1) When did you first get involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?
I first got involved with W. O.M.A.N. Inc. in February 2014 through the DV training program.159633b6-265f-4dd1-aa98-b56d954fa980

2) What inspired you to do anti-violence work?

I had friends that worked with W.O.M.A.N. Inc. who told me about the great work that they do to help survivors of domestic violence.  The more that I learned, the more I wanted to get involved.

3) What kind of opportunities have you
been involved with here?

I have been volunteering for shifts on the 24 hour crisis line, and I have recently started to help facilitate support groups.  Some of the calls can be tough, as many callers are at a difficult point in their lives, but it is also incredibly rewarding to hear survivors’ strength and hope for the future.

4) How has your involvement impacted your life?
Before volunteering with W.O.M.A.N. Inc. I did not know much about domestic violence.  Through W.O.M.A.N. Inc. I have learned more about the intricacies of domestic violence, and how wider social injustices such as sexism and racism allow violence to persist in communities.  I hope that my involvement with W.O.M.A.N. Inc. has made me a more socially conscious and compassionate person.  It has also been empowering to be part of an organization that supports so many people in the community.  Sometimes domestic violence and other social injustices can seem like overwhelming, unsolvable problems, but knowing that there are people like the W.O.M.A.N. Inc staff and volunteers working to support survivors and create change gives me a lot of hope.

5) What pieces of wisdom would you share with new volunteers or community members who are interested in supporting W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?
My experience with W.O.M.A.N. Inc. has been wonderful so far, and I would encourage anyone who is interested in supporting W.O.M.A.N. Inc to get involved in any way that they can. I think one major piece of wisdom that I’ve gained through my experience is the realization that even though I will always have room for improvement in my interactions with clients, just doing my best to provide support and be present with clients can go a long way.

Leave a Reply

