Donor Spotlight: Cheyenne Fong & REPLENISHSF

1. What is your name?4784f64e-de8e-466d-a54a-2d2db87f0a10
My name is Cheyenne Fong!
2. How did you first learn about W.O.M.A.N., Inc?
I learned about W.O.M.A.N., Inc through a google search! I was looking for a full list of domestic violence shelters in San Francisco, and this came up. I have briefly heard of this organization while volunteering at SFWAR, as well.
3. Please tell us about your fundraising efforts for W.O.M.A.N., Inc.
@REPLENISHSF is just me, single handedly utilizing social media to gain traction on this highly stigmatized and under-educated issue. I am literally REPLENISHING domestic violence(DV) shelters with much needed toiletries since they seem to be so hard to come by. I encourage people to bring in anything they would deem a necessity – shampoo, toothpaste, soap, toilet paper. Anything that could easily be taken for granted.
7a0745bc-8aca-47c6-85e1-7ccb2fb83d63Whatever cash is given to me is taken STRAIGHT to target to buy the rest of the needed supplies, then donate ginormous trunk-fulls to shelters in person. Any kind of monetary or toiletry donation is used DIRECTLY to replenish DV shelters across the sf bay area. I have already completed my goal of replenishing every DV shelter in the Bay Area. After I complete that, I will “do my rounds” and replenish all the shelters AGAIN, then move onto the upper Northern California area.
I have been tabling nonstop at 924 GILMAN, a punk venue I have been frequenting for almost a decade now. I hop on big shows, post all over the event pages, stand up on stage to make (nerve racking) announcements – all in the name of raising awareness. I always had little kid dreams of being on that stage, and I’m so glad I could finally do so and help out an entire community!aa308283-730e-4abf-beab-88b1e1f52e90
I have also decided to drop off a donation bin at my favorite salon, BOMBSHELL BAY AREA in Millbrae, and their clients have been nothing but absolutely generous with toiletry, and even makeup donations!
4. What inspired you to support W.O.M.A.N., Inc.’s anti-violence efforts?
The major problem is that San Francisco DOES NOT fund the local domestic violence shelters and makes them jump through fiery hoops to get any sort of meager funding. Thus rendering a lot of the shelters running on empty and the employees have to sacrifice just so their residents can have supplies. Back in August after my first drive, I proudly presented my very first trunk-full of donations ($400+ worth) to a San Francisco domestic violence shelter and the rep was beyond overwhelmed by how much toiletries I had to give. The shelter was void of all toiletries for several months. I was floored, and also irate at how neglected and grossly underfunded the shelter was.
It baffles me to no end how there’s so much money being exchanged in SF but none of it is funneling down to people who need it the most. That was seriously more than enough to get me to keep this drive ongoing. I guess you could say I found some sort of inspiration in me “seeing red” over the whole situation. I told myself I could either stay mad, or take that energy and actually do something with it – thus REPLENISHSF was born!

5) What is the impact you hope for your support to have on the community?
I ultimately just want this to be a catalyst to getting better and EASIER funding for DV shelters. I also use this platform to tell people that it’s okay to talk about Domestic Violence, and to soften the stigma around DV survivors and their abusers. I’m a survivor too- I’m in a really good place in my life where I have the means and ability to execute this project. Ultimately I just want to encourage anybody who is in this situation to come out of the darkness and reach for help, because we’re all on the same team. 90250bc1-40ec-4efb-998b-f29578c90d7d
6) Can you share a fun fact about yourself?
Surfing is my mental and physical therapy! I’m super into cooking – current obsessions are making my own broth and churning fresh ice cream!

 

Leave a Reply

