Donor Highlight: Tabi Musselwhite

1) What is your name? Tabi Musselwhit5d8dbd7f-f51d-4782-9177-284186047d29e

2) How did you first learn about W.O.M.A.N., Inc.? 
I was actively looking for a recipient for a fundraiser I was throwing. I knew I wanted the funds to go to local domestic violence support. I did a bunch of research until I found an organization that I thought was extremely active in the community, was organized and transparent, and offered a broad range of support. W.O.M.A.N., Inc.!

3)Please tell us about your fundraising efforts for W.O.M.A.N., Inc.
I’ve had loads of birthdays where it’s all about me… take me somewhere, feed me something, me me me. This year I decided I would use this birthday to send some good vibes into the world. Party for a good cause! I pitched the event as my 32nd Birthday Pop-up Charity Brunch Party! I sold tickets on a sliding scale so guests could decide how much they were able to give, and let them know that 100% of their ticket price went to support W.O.M.A.N., Inc. With the help of friends and my amazing husband, I cooked for 30 of my closest friends in a community venue space in the Mission called 18 Reasons. The menu was full of funky California fare and some southern staples… I’m from NC, biscuits are necessary! The party was a blast and collectively we raised $850! It’s amazing what we can do when we band together.

4)What inspired you to support W.O.M.A.N., Inc’s anti-violence efforts? 
I grew up in rural North Carolina where domestic violence is unfortunately not that uncommon. I’ll start by saying I love my family with all my heart, but my father has had a lifetime struggle with controlling his temper and acting out in violent ways. Growing up he would often land himself in jail for domestic disputes. Although he always provided for me and was never violent towards me, it was pretty hard to deal with as a teenager and at age 16, I had a nervous breakdown and moved in with my grandmother. I had a lot of support from my mother and other family member who were also affected by the behavior. At 18 I went to college and seemed far enough away that I thought it didn’t effect me anymore. Little do we realize that trauma doesn’t disappear, we have to deal with it for it to heal. So throwing this fundraiser was a way for me to fight my inner demons and help victims of violence find support, safety and refuge.

5)What is the impact you hope for your support to have on the community?
I hope the funds we raised will support women in finding security, safety and most importantly self confidence. I understand that organizations like W.O.M.A.N., Inc. can help women in a tricky situation find the courage to leap out of their current life, feel emotionally supported, learn new skills,  build themselves up, become better people for themselves and their children. I hope my support will bring peace to those who have endured violence.

6) Can you share a fun fact about yourself?
I’ve been told that my best characteristic is making the mundane fun! Even if I’m washing clothes, filing taxes, or changing light bulbs, I can make a party out of it! I actively refuse to live a boring life.

Leave a Reply

