Donor Spotlight: Marinda Avalos

10413378_10207049224402989_3885591398712202670_n.jpg1)What is your name?  My name is Marinda.

2)How did you first learn about W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?
I first learned about W.O.M.A.N. Inc. when I was doing research on resource groups available for women in the bay area. I help feed the homeless in West Oakland on Sundays and sometimes I come across women who are asking for help and available resources. I wanted to be able to provide them with a list of resources they could turn to if needed.

3)Please tell us about your fundraising efforts for W.O.M.A.N., Inc.

I put together a punk show for Friday, March 25th in Oakland at Crate. Five local bands are playing: Raised by Zebras, End All, Y Que, Black Dream, and Elderly Abuse. My hope is to raise enough money to purchase bart tickets, motel vouchers, and gift cards for the women who are served by W.O.M.A.N. Inc. and as well as women who I come across in Oakland asking for assistance.

IMG_4259.JPG

Raised by Zebras performing at the fundraising event.


4)What inspired you to support W.O.M.A.N., Inc’s anti-violence efforts?

My inspiration for supporting W.O.M.A.N. Inc.’s anti-violence efforts came from myself being affected by violence. A family member of mine was attacked back in October, and she is doing well now but it is still a constant struggle, with legal problems, and feeling safe. She is lucky to have the support of her family, but I know there are a lot of women out there who don’t have that support and turn to organizations such as W.O.M.A.N. Inc to get the resources they so desperately need. I feel it’s our duty as a community to step up and support one another.


5)What is the impact you hope for your support to have on the community?

I hope that these donations can help women escape a dire situation and get to a safe place. I hope to provide a moment of relief and clarity with these donations… sometimes a night a way or a trip to a safe place can be a matter of life and death. It’s not much, but it’s definitely a lot when you’re in need of getting out of a dangerous situation. I also hope to spread more awareness of the serious issue of domestic violence in our community. There are people out there who are affected and sometimes remain in silence. I want the community to know that this problem does exist, and there are things that we can do to help.


6) Can you share a fun fact about yourself?

My favorite thing to do is playing music and going to punk shows!

Leave a Reply

