Donor Highlight: Sormeh Naderi

What is your name?IMG_4702
Hello! My name is Sormeh Naderi.

How did you first learn about W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?
I was looking to become more involved with my community. I researched numerous smaller non-profit organizations and encountered W.O.M.A.N. Inc. I was truly impressed by their values and their mission, which are in line with mine.

Please tell us about your fundraising efforts for W.O.M.A.N., Inc.
I had two approaches in fundraising for W.O.M.A.N Inc. On my campus, sent a mass email to all staff and students to inform them of the fundraiser. I created a flyer and posted numerous copies around school, I made several announcements to the whole school, and had many conversations with students and staff in depth about the cause. Outside my school efforts, I orchestrated a few gatherings of family and friends. I sent out another mass email and made several phone calls to inform family friends about this cause. My goal was to inform every single individual I knew about an issue that definitely should not be ignored. I was speechless by the amount of positive feedback I received.

IMG_4703

What inspired you to support W.O.M.A.N., Inc’s anti-violence efforts?
Brave survivors who have struggled and been able to bounce back have inspired me to want to aid in such an important cause. No one should have to endure such harrowing events but seeing the outcome of survivors who were able to rise up from rock bottom with the proper support system is truly inspiring. These strong and powerful women are the ones who are going to change the world with their zeal for justice and strength.

What is the impact you hope for your support to have on the community?
I hope that if everyone works together, we will grow as a society that is truly connected by strong, compassionate individuals. Unfortunately there will always be those who wish to hurt others, but if good people work together and empower those who have been wounded, we can teach individuals who have fallen victim to terrible circumstances how truly amazing they are.

Can you share a fun fact about yourself?
One fun fact about me is that I absolutely love the song Dancing Queen and cannot help but break out my dance moves whenever I hear it.

Leave a Reply

