Volunteer Highlight: Ignacia Pérez Botto

1) When did you first get involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?
I got involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. in October 2015.e202bb5c-cee6-43d1-8afe-82d9d4d5dabd

2)What inspired you to do anti-violence work?
I have always felt interested in working towards stopping the injustices that are in our society. Since I was a teenager, I wanted to become a psychologist, and when I graduated I had no doubt that I had made the right choice. I started working in human resources and practicing my passion in mental health as a volunteer, mostly with children and families.
Today, anti-violence work is a field I feel committed to, because it combines my passion of the work that I have been doing with families with a challenging issue that affects all kinds of people, no matter nationality, race or level of education.

3)What kind of opportunities have you been involved with here?
Since I finished my training in October of 2015, I have had a lot of different opportunities at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. First, I started covering the support line, and I am still doing that currently.
Later, I started receiving people who come for drop-in support and also got to facilitate a Spanish support group. All of these different areas have been an opportunity to practice containment, support, and also to learn from others. Yes! In this field you never stop learning!

4)How has your involvement impacted your life?
When I moved from Chile to the US, I felt the necessity of being involved with a non-profit organization and started building my entire career around my passion with mental health.
W.O.M.A.N., Inc. was the first place that opened their doors, trusted me and offered a new field to work with. Today, after 6 months, I think that I found a place where I feel comfortable, and where I feel free to express
my opinion and give ideas.

f707a5a0-2bb8-44e5-bbe5-5cf114b3081f5)What pieces of wisdom would you share with new volunteers or community members who are interested in supporting W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?
I would tell them that by doing this job we are agents of change, and that even a small piece of our practice, such as answering a short call or giving a referral, may mean a substantial difference in someone’s life.
To new volunteers, I would say that by doing this job we should be aware that we may feel challenged and sometimes overwhelmed, so it is very important that, as part of our routine we give ourselves a space to practice self-care. This will be a key word if you want to work in helping others.
Finally, I would like to say that, by working in this field I feel that we are powerful agents that can educate our communities towards a better understanding about what domestic violence is about.


Here’s what our team has to say about this stellar volunteer:

“Ignacia has done so much for the Latina Program already. She is always ready to help out in anything and everything. I really appreciate how much she has helped me out.” -Adilia, Echando Pa’lante Coordinator

Leave a Reply

