W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Advocate Highlight: Lucy Chen

1) How long have you been involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?unnamed-1

I have been involved with W.O.M.A.N. Inc., for almost 4 years I believe.

2) What have been your roles at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I have been a crisis counselor volunteer and a case manager assistant for Paola during Latina Program. I have also volunteered in some administrative areas like grant research and participated in different meetings and events from the community.

3) How did you come into domestic violence field?

In city college giving DV presentations to college and high school students.  After my associate degree in Psychology I decided to volunteer in W.O.M.A.N., Inc and get involved in anti-violence work.

4) What do you enjoy most about your work at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.? What do you love most about working with survivors? 

I enjoy being part of a great team that supports their staff and volunteers with any concerns or questions. I love the strength and wisdom I gain from each survivor I work with. Each of their stories are filled with so much courage and love despite adversities. It is an honor for me to serve them and that, in itself, motivates me to continue this work. 🙂

5) Can you share a fun fact about yourself? 

A fun fact: Im obsessed with science fiction and cute animals

Leave a Reply

