Meet a W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Volunteer: Sabrina Woon

Meet one of our volunteers, Sabrina Woon! Sabrina has been volunteering with us since July 2016 and has supported us with the W.O.M.A.N., Inc. 24-hour hotline amongst other organization functions. Volunteers are the backbone of our organization and we truly could not thrive without people like Sabrina on our team. Read more about her & the anti-violence work she does with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. below:

Sabrina 1

1) Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I am a woman, a friend and a mother who is strong, passionate and independent. I have two kids who keep me busy and I am also currently in school working on obtaining my esthetician license. I consider my life a work in progress as there still so much I’d love to try and do.

2) What is your role and what opportunities have you been involved with at the organization?

I am a W.O.M.A.N., Inc volunteer and I work the overnight shift on the support line once a week. I also got to guest bartend at one of the fundraisers which was really fun and I’m looking forward to being involved in even more.

3) What propelled you to volunteer with us & what motivates you to continue the anti-violence work you do?

What propelled me to volunteer with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. was my own personal upbringing and life experiences. I was determined to break the cycle of violence for my children and also find healing and forgiveness through helping others do the same. Every time I have reached a hard point in the anti-violence work I stop and think about how important it was for me to make sure my children don’t go through the same things I did and that is my biggest motivation.

Sabrina 3

2017 W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Guest Bartending Fundraiser at Tonic Bar, SF 

Also, hearing the stories of other survivors and family and friends of survivors just reminds me of how important this work is. I won’t lie, sometimes it can be discouraging and sad because I want to have the solution for every person I come across but, unfortunately,  it just doesn’t work that way.  Then I’ll get a caller on the support line that I really connect with and we talk and sometimes come up with a safety plan and at the end they will thank me and  tell me how much talking to me helped them and I’m reminded that, sometimes, something that seems so little can have a big impact on someone and change the course of their life. Listening doesn’t seem like a big deal. It feels like such a small thing to do, yet, it can be life changing especially when it comes to domestic violence. Knowing I’ve helped someone motivates me to keep pushing forward and continue this work.

 

4) How has your involvement with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. impacted your life?

I never expected my involvement with W.O.M.A.N. Inc. to impact my life in such a big way, But it has. It has made me a more compassionate and understanding person and, in a senseit has given me a purpose and something to stand up and fight for. It has also opened up my eyes to a bunch of other issues and given me a deeper understanding of other systems of oppression and how it all relates. It has taught me valuable real life skills and also how important self-care is.

5) Anything else you’d like the community to know about volunteering with W.O.M.A.N., Inc./working with survivors?

I just want people to know that if you are considering getting involved — JUST DO IT! 

Sabrina 2

Sabrina guest bartending at a W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Fundraiser

I kind of hesitated at first on whether or not I should do the 40-hour training. I never considered myself one of those “do gooders” and didn’t have a lot of experience with volunteer work but it was something I was passionate about and something important to me so I went for it.  Here I am, a year later, and so thankful for getting to be a part of such a wonderful organization and community of people who have been so kind and helpful to me through this journey. Working with survivors can be difficult and emotionally draining at times but is also a very eye-opening and rewarding experience. Survivors are all around you. Even if you think you don’t know anyone affected by domestic violence I would bet you do! Sadly, it’s more common than we like to think and I’m glad organizations like W.O.M.A.N., Inc. exist.

 

Leave a Reply

