Board Spotlight: Kathy Jeffery

Kathy Jeffries1) What is your name?

Kathy Jeffery

2) How did you come to be involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I work with Caresse Santin, who has been a crisis volunteer with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. for the last ten years. A few years ago I moved to San Francisco from Chicago. Caresse introduced me to the organization and its great cause when I was looking to donate some household items left over from my move. Every year I lead a vision board event and I would ask participants to donate toiletry items/bus passes for a woman’s organization as a give back for attending the event. The last two Vision Board events I gave the donations to W.O.M.A.N., Inc. This year Lija (W.O.M.A.N., Inc.’s Board President. Check out her Board Spotlight here) reached out to me to see if I was interested in being on the Board.

3) Can you tell us about your professional background?

I currently head-up Human Resources for a technology company called Sportvision that is located in Mountain View. I have 18 years’ experience in Human Resources and Co-Active Coaching. I consider myself a HR generalist and would say that my expertise is in change and talent management; which includes recruitment, employee career development, learning & development, corporate culture alignment, mergers & acquisitions, and employee communication. My experience includes working for domestic and global industries including technology, marketing/advertising, digital media, and non-profit organizations.  

In my spare time as a Co-Active Coach I help individuals define where they want to go in their life, need clarification of goals they want to achieve, or professional coaching in their career life. 

4) As a Board Member, what skills will you be able to bring to W.O.M.A.N., Inc.

I hope to be able to use my human resources, career counseling services, and marketing skills to help W.O.M.A.N., Inc. reach its objectives.  I’ve worked on past Boards where I helped recruit key agency positions, participated in strategy sessions, reviewed policies, and spearheaded their annual fundraising and marketing campaigns. In addition, I always enjoy volunteering one-on-one for women and children causes. In the past, I helped provide career counseling and interview skills training to women. I led vision board events to encourage women to dream and manifest positivity in their lives. I regularly read and entertained children with lifelong illnesses at a Children’s Hospital. 

Leave a comment