W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Volunteer Spotlight: Carolyn Cherry

Carolyn - VolunteerCarolyn Cherry joined W.O.M.A.N., Inc. three years ago. Since then, she has been such an amazing addition to both our staff and volunteer teams. Carolyn is a dedicated advocate, having volunteered previously with a dual domestic violence and sexual assault agency in Tahoe before joining our community in San Francisco. Since then she has been a reliable peer counselor. She also trained new volunteers, served as our After Hours Crisis Line Coordinator, and provided major assistance with moving our office. In addition, Carolyn helps to coordinate our Moving to End Domestic Violence events and performs outreach in the community. She is basically the most helpful and down-to-earth person you could hope to work with. We all appreciate Carolyn’s support, humor, and grounded way of doing tough work. She’s a gem. Read more about Carolyn’s involvement with the agency below:

When did you first get involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?
I’ve been at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. since the middle of 2009, so coming up on 4 years!!

What inspired you to do anti-violence work?
I moved to SF in 2009, and I wanted to get involved with an organization that empowered survivors of domestic violence. I asked around and interviewed with a few anti-domestic violence agencies. At W.O.M.A.N., Inc. I was introduced to a group of motivated, thoughtful, and determined people. I looked no further and stayed with W.O.M.A.N., Inc.!!

What kind of opportunities have you been involved with here?
I’ve had a few different roles over the years here and loved them all! Currently I work the crisis line during business and non-business hours. I also provide support as a “back-up” advocate, answering crisis line calls or calls from advocates during non-business hours!

How has your involvement impacted your life?
The involvement I have had with WI has had a tremendous impact on me. It has opened up a world of amazing people; survivors as well as other advocates involved in the Domestic Violence community. I feel lucky to be a member of this community, and I am thankful to everyone involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. for showing me just how far a community can go when we work together. It’s made me realize that social change is necessary in ending out fight against interpersonal violence!

What pieces of wisdom would you share with new volunteers or community members who are interested in supporting W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?
I want everyone to know that people involved with W.O.M.A.N., Inc. are some of the most compassionate, motivated, and hardworking people I have ever met! If you are interested in becoming a member of our team, please bring a smile, an open mind, and the best sense of humor you can find because its a group of hilarious people! As far as people who are interested in supporting us, thank you. We will always work as hard as we can to reach as many survivors as we can, it’s thanks to you that this is possible!

What do you enjoy the most about volunteering at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?
I love W.O.M.A.N., Inc. for a bunch of reasons, but it is the awesome group of volunteers and staff that makes me honored to be a member of such an awesome organization!

Can you share one fun fact about yourself?
I prefer the middle seat in airplanes because it gives me two people to talk to.

~ Carolyn interviewed by Lily Krutel and Mariya Taher

2 thoughts on “W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Volunteer Spotlight: Carolyn Cherry

Leave a Reply

