Board Highlight: Juliette-Marie Somerset

1) What opportunities have you been involved with at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?
W.O.M.A.N. Inc. and The Riley Center provide a comprehensive 40 hour domestic violence training several times during the year for volunteer peer advocates and counselors. I completed the Fall 2015 DV training program and have been a trained volunteer peer counselor/advocate on the Support Line for the past 8 months at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Prior to starting the DV training I made a personal commitment to W.O.M.A.N., Inc. to volunteer weekly for a full year. There are survivors in our community who really view the 24/7 confidential Support Line as essential to accessing lifesaving resources, safety planning and hope.Juliette-Marie Professional Profile Photo 2016
In March of this year W.O.M.A.N., Inc. extended an invitation to me and another Support Line peer advocate to attend Woven World Summit here in San Francisco. It was an absolute honor to represent the agency at this amazing network of women supporting each other to thrive. During the two-day conference we all experienced heart-felt connection, deep listening, authenticity and humility as we discovered meaning, purpose, joy and community. The takeaway from the Woven World Summit is that women need to create concentric circles and talk openly and honestly about our challenges and unite together. This solidarity of sacred lives woven together can change the trajectory of our lives and make our world better and safer.

2) What inspired you to support W.O.M.A.N., Inc.’s anti-violence efforts?
I have been engaged in the social justice movement as a member of Community United Against Violence (CUAV). It was my personal connection with CUAV that brought me and Jill together for a 3-day Move To End Violence workshop sponsored as an operational program by the NoVo Foundation to end violence against girls and women. The theme of our 3 days together was Liberation and Equity. A key aspect of anti-violence movement is strengthen our understanding of intersectional analysis as we explore and create solutions to end violence. Interlocking systems stand in the way of promoting justice for us all.
I value profoundly the dignity and personal stories of strength of every survivor who takes the courageous steps to end domestic violence in their lives. What inspires me most about supporting W.O.M.A.N., Inc.’s anti-violence movement is that it rooted firmly in the strength and resilience of survivors.
3) Can you tell us about your professional background?
I am a transformational independent leadership executive and consultant dedicated to accelerating social impact with philanthropy, innovation, insight and compassion. I have a wide knowledge of and professional experience in targeted fundraising campaigns, effective strategic development, public-private community partnerships and change processes in not-for-profit and volunteer leadership management organizations.
I am a mentor and leader in my community as a mentor empowering women with the local San Francisco Dress for Success cohort programs: Going Places Network. I was appointed as a member of the Board of Directors at the Asian & Pacific Islander Wellness Center which is fostering a new era in health, wellness and equality and the future of LGBTQ health in San Francisco. I am dedicated to social entrepreneurship and economic empowerment and weekly volunteer at SCORE mentors supported by the U.S. Small Business Administration.

I was educated at Yale University and Columbia University with a graduate program in Fundraising and Nonprofit Management. I currently lives in San Francisco, California.

4) As a Board Member, what skills will you be able to bring to W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?
I hope my relationship building skills will be valued as a Board member. Also my governance and fundraising knowledge.
As a Board member, I can help to broaden the perspective and deepen the understanding of the community we serve. I can help with diversity and inclusiveness in its own leadership.
I welcome the opportunity to share my nonprofit industry experience, volunteer leadership management expertise.

5) What pieces of wisdom would you share with new volunteers or community members who are interested in supporting W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?
Let’s all build solidarity together. Let’s help to break the corrosive silence that keeps survivors from getting help, safety planning and hope. I can share personally that W.O.M.A.N., Inc. is a community that will embrace warmly all of us.
6) Can you share a fun fact about yourself?
I can spend endless hours in the garden. I love planting and cultivating!


 

Thanks for joining the board, Juliette-Marie! W.O.M.A.N., Inc. is so appreciative of your passion and commitment to our community and the larger anti-violence movement. We look forward to your collaboration!

Leave a comment