Staff Highlight: Alicia Padillapaz

1) How long have you been working at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?
I was a volunteer for W.O.M.A.N. Inc for a little under a year and a half and then went to work for The Riley Center for an additional year and a half. I always stayed in touch with the staff here as they are all amazing and do tremendous work. I’m glad to be back as part of the team!
2) What do you do at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?
 I assist in the volunteer training and will begin recruiting and interviewing volunteers for our upcoming training. I also oversee the Education and Outreach program along with providing support on the crisis line and drop ins as needed.
3) How did you come into this profession?IMG_6443
My mom was a volunteer for W.O.M.A.N. Inc, and a Case Manager for They Riley Center a little over 20 years ago so I’ve pretty much been an advocate since I was little. I’m passionate about Social Justice. During my undergrad at SFSU, I interned for a prevention education program called The S.A.F.E. Place (Sexual Abuse Free Environment) and became interested in working with survivors of Domestic Violence. I absolutely love supporting survivors whether it be providing peer counseling, referrals or advocacy. One of the many parts I love about this position is I also get to train incoming volunteers and community members and provide them the training and education they need to provide support for survivors in their communities.
4) What are you looking forward to as W.O.M.A.N., Inc. continues to grow?
I look forward to seeing our programs reach all communities and of course educating more community members to serve survivors and their families. I’m proud to be a part of this movement!
5) What do you enjoy most about working at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?
STAFF! I feel blessed to work with an amazing team! The work environment here is very empowering and supportive and I love the energy in the office. I enjoy working with the wonderful pool of volunteers and working with all the various agencies in our community!  I am truly honored to work with an agency who’s mission and values reflect my passion.

Leave a comment