W.O.M.A.N., Inc. Staff Highlight: Joy LeRoy

1) How long have you been working at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I completed the forty-hour training in March of 2013 and began volunteering on the support line shortly thereafter. At the beginning of September 2014, I was offered a paid position here.photo

2) What do you do at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

I am the Support Line Program assistant, so I handle scheduling advocates for coverage for the support line and I still take support line shifts.
3) How did you come into this profession?

I took a few women’s studies classes at City College of San Francisco and one of the classes required me to volunteer at a CBO or community based organization such as W.O.M.A.N., Inc. I thought that I had missed the deadline to participate in the forty-hour training so I had resigned myself to being a short-term volunteer, but when I came in for my interview I was asked if I wanted to attend the training and become an actual volunteer. I gladly accepted and I’ve been a volunteering ever since. Then in September I was offered a staff position, which I saw as an opportunity to become more involved and knowledgeable about W.O.M.A.N., Inc. and the work that we do.

4) What are you looking forward to as W.O.M.A.N., Inc. continues to grow?

I look forward to being able to find survivors from any background resources to help them be safer, happier, and free from violence!

5) What do you enjoy most about working at W.O.M.A.N., Inc.?

The thing I enjoy the most about working at W.O.M.A.N., Inc. is the freedom I feel to be myself!

Leave a comment